About Blackheath Conservation Area
London’s first conservation area, designated in 1968 and extended a number of times since, this area includes streets of handsome period houses which lie immediately to the west of Greenwich Park from Vanbrugh Park down to Blackheath village.
A short history
Some of Blackheath’s most impressive historic residences that stand today were built on land that belonged to the Bromley businessman and speculator John Cator after he began to sell leases in 1793. Among these are South Row (whose original houses were flattened by bombing during the Blitz) and Montpelier Row. One of Blackheath’s most iconic streets is the Paragon, a unique crescent of seven pairs of houses linked by colonnades.
Green spaces and going out
On the doorstep is Blackheath, one of London’s largest open spaces so residents are never short of somewhere to go to walk the dog, go for a run or fly a kite, but it also has a bowling green, tennis courts and football pitches for more organised sport.
There are two shopping areas depending catering for different parts of the conservation area: to the south is Blackheath village which has shops, cafes and restaurants (as well a second-hand bookstore which has been in operation since 1949). Those based in the north will use the shops and pubs in Blackheath Standard.
Blackheath boasts the oldest surviving purpose-built multi-arts complex in London. The Conservatoire — which puts on music, art and drama courses for both children and adults — and the adjacent Blackheath Halls, owned by Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance, which hosts concerts by students and professionals, as well as comedy evenings.
Westcombe Park station serves those based in the north of the conservation area. Trains take 20 mins to Cannon Street. North Greenwich tube station is accessible by bus from Blackheath Standard and from there it’s just one stop to Canary Wharf. For those in the south, trains from Blackheath station take 13 mins to London Bridge.
Did you know?
Blackheath is thought to be the site of the first golf club in England, laid out by James I.